Plattsburgh, NY – Following the agreement that a newly formed New York-based management team headed by DIRT Modified driver Mike Perrotte will head operations at Airborne Raceway in 2005, officials have announced that the 31st annual Spring Green 100 will take on a new look in 2005, as the famed NAPA Tiger Sportsman division will take over center stage. The Perrotte group will retain the current racing divisions, continuing operation on the ½-mile asphalt facility.

The Tiger Sportsmen have been a mainstay at Airborne Raceway for 15 seasons, and have served as the headline division since 2002. Many drivers have tuned their talents in the division before moving on to the ACT Tour Late Models. Top alumni include the Fisher brothers, Jamie, Steve, and Chris, as well as Eric Williams, Cooper MacRitchie, Joe Becker, and John Donahue. The current group of Airborne Raceway Tiger Sportsman stars is led by hometown drivers Robin Wood and Bucko Branham, as well as Jason Bonnett, Skip Liberty, John Hayes, Doug Murphy, and Milton, VT’s Bill Sawyer, the 2004 Champion.

“The Spring Green race will be awesome, there’s a lot of tradition there,” said Murphy. “I’ve always liked the 100-lappers at Airborne, this is going to be a lot of fun.” Perrotte agreed with Murphy, adding “The Sportsman cars really know how to put on a show at Airborne. I can’t think of a better way to kick off our new tradition as an organization than with them running in the Spring Green.”

Beginning in 1974 at Catamount Stadium in Milton, VT, the Spring Green has long been a benchmark event for the ACT Tour Late Models. The race was held at Catamount Stadium until the track closed after the 1987 season, and was moved to the 1.3-kilometer Sanair Super Speedway in St-Pie, QC for 1988. The race was not run in 1989, but returned in 1990 at its current home, Airborne Raceway in Plattsburgh, NY.

The first winner of the event was multi-time Catamount Stadium and ACT champion Beaver Dragon. Dragon won the race again in 1977 and 1979, while his brother Bobby was the 1975 winner. Beaver Dragon’s son, Brent, picked up his first Spring Green win in 2004 at Airborne Raceway, then went on to finish as the runner-up on the ACT Tour. A “who’s who” list of past winners includes the Dragons along with Dave Dion (1976), Robbie Crouch (1988), Junior Hanley (1992-93), Brian Hoar (1999), and Jean-Paul Cyr (2003). Quebec driver Claude Leclerc has the distinction of being the only driver to win the race at two different tracks, as he won at Catamount Stadium in 1983 and again at Airborne Raceway in 1990.

The Spring Green 100 will be the first event of an eight-race “Tiger Tour” schedule for the NAPA Tiger Sportsmen, which will also include stops at Barre, VT’s Thunder Road Speedbowl, and New Hampshire’s Canaan Fair Speedway, White Mountain Motorsports Park, and Lee USA Speedway. The Spring Green will lift the lid on Airborne Raceway’s 51st season, Saturday, May 07, 2005.