The second round of the ACTion Super Series is less than a week away and the competitors from Lee USA Speedway are hoping the home field advantage will aid their performances in Sunday's $10,000 to win REMAX Alliance National 150.
Matthew Scott of Dover, NH is excited about Sunday's event, which will be his first attempt at qualifying for an ACT Late Model Tour race. "We've been running at Lee and the car's been pretty fast, so we're hoping for the best," he commented. "I want to make sure I get in the tech line early and hopefully get a good draw and starting spot in the heats." Scott isn't the only driver who hopes for a good starting spot.
"Just qualifying, that's our first goal," added A.J. Begin from Merrimac, MA. "There were 76 cars at last year's REMAX race, and 55 at the first ACTion Super Series race a couple of weeks ago at Thunder Road (Barre, VT). We didn't make the main event at Thunder Road, but it was our first time there. We have experience racing at Lee and I'm hoping that will be enough to get me in the '150'," he concluded. Begin won the ACT Tour's Ferguson Waterworks 100 earlier this year at Canaan (NH) Fair Speedway.
Scott Bonney, of N. Chelmsford, MA, the 2005 Lee USA Speedway Late Model champion as well as Scott Watts from Seabrook, NH, who was fourth in the 2005 standings, both ran in the opening round of the three-race ACTion Super Series at Thunder Road. Even though both liked the high banked quarter-mile oval, they were more enthusiastic about their chances at their home venue. "Thunder Road's weekly drivers definitely had the advantage there," remarked Bonney, "Hopefully the shoe will be on the other foot this week," he added.
Dickie Goulet, Scott Watts' car owner concurred, "There's not going to be a lot of practice time available Sunday, Tom (Curley, ACT president) runs a tight show. The drivers who race at Lee on a weekly should have a leg up," he finished.
Among the other Lee drivers expected to attempt to qualify for one of the 36 starting spots in Sunday's REMAX Alliance National 150 are Jeff Labrecque Jr, Bryan Kruczek, Mike Collins, Mark Anzalone Jr, Eddie MacDonald and Jim Linardy, among others. Qualifying starts at 2:00 pm. Adult admission is just $20.