Nominating ballots for several season-ending awards have been put in the mail to licensed ACT and Thunder Road competitors and officials. Each participating driver from the 2005 ACT Late Model Tour, ACT Sportsman and Sunoco Ethanol Triple Crown Series as well as weekly divisions at Barre, Vermont's Thunder Road can submit a nominating ballot for their division.

The Late Models and NAPA Sportsmen (weekly and Tour/Series) will each offer up deserving candidates for their division's "Most Improved Driver" award. Additionally the two classes will also nominate names of fellow competitors who are deserving of the "Sportsmanship" award. The Allen Lumber Street Stocks will propose names for the Ed Carroll Memorial Award which honors the driver who is deemed a sportsman by his peers.
Competitors can nominate up to four names. The names appearing most frequently will go on the final which will be sent out in late November. Nominating ballots, which can be sent by mail (P.O. Box 296, Waterbury, VT 05676) or fax (802-244-1616), must be received by the ACT/Thunder Road office no later than Tuesday, November 15.
Past recipients of the Late Model Most Improved Driver Award include Steve Fisher (2004), Trampas Demers (2003), Chad Wheeler (1997 & 1999), Phil Scott (1992) and multi-time Thunder Road Late Model King of the Road, Cris Michaud (1994 & 1996), among others. The Late Model Sportsmanship Award has gone to Ron Henry (2004), Brent Dragon (2003) Dave Whitcomb (1998) and Herb Drugg (2002) to name a few.
Recent recipients for the NAPA Sportsmen Most Improved award, which dates back to 1990, include Chris Gendreau (2004), Steve Bennett (2003), Robin Wood (1992), and Doug Murphy (1994). The Sportsmanship Award winner's list includes Kerry Henry (2004), Chip Grenier (2003), Joe Steffen (2002 & 2001), as well as 15 others since its inception in 1985.
The Ed Carroll Memorial Award was instituted in 2002 following the accidental death of long-time ACT official Ed Carroll. By a vote of his peers, "Super" Joe Fecteau was honored with the inaugural award for his sportsman-like attitude and actions. Gary Mullen was the 2004 honoree.
The 2005 ACT and Thunder Road Banquet is set for Saturday, January 14 at the Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center. Ticket information will be available in the near future.