Saturday night's ACT Sportsman Series Spring Green, scheduled for Airborne Raceway, Plattsburgh, NY, has been postponed due to rain. The race will now be held at 1:30 pm, Sunday, May 7.

The 31st annual Spring Green kicks off a seven-race Series for the Sportsman cars. Last year's race winner, hometown favorite, Robin Wood, went on to capture the 2005 Sportsman Series Championship by ten points over Shawn Fleury. Fleury soothed what ever disappointment he might have felt by handily winning the 2005 Sportsman "King of the Road" title at Barre, Vermont's Thunder Road a few weeks later.

While Wood, who posted his first Sportsman Series win in last year's Spring Green, has to be considered one of the favorites in the rescheduled event, several other drivers have also scored a career first victory in the race. The first nine Spring Green winners all had previous wins before carying the checkers in the race. But in 1983, Quebec driver Claude Leclerc broke into the Winner's Circle for the first time. Tom Glaser and Joey Kourafas scored the same feat in subsequent years. At the final Spring Green held at the former Catamount Stadium (Milton, VT), Paul Richardson was victorious for the first time in his stock car racing career.

In 1990 the Spring Green was relocated to Plattsburgh, New York's Airborne Raceway (now Speedway). More recent first time ACT winners include Todd Stone (2001) and Jacob McGrath (2002) in ACT Late Models. The 2005 edition was the first for the Sportsman competitors.