A forecast of steady rain throughout the weekend forced an early cancellation of Saturday’s American-Canadian Tour (ACT) Late Model Series White Mountain 100 at White Mountain Motorsports Park, N Woodstock, NH. The event has been pushed back one week to Saturday, June 17. Post time will be 5:00 pm.

Over the past several years, multi-time ACT Late Model Champion, Jean-Paul Cyr of Milton, VT has had a stranglehold over the Tour’s June race at the quarter-mile, semi-banked oval. The 40 year-old racer has won the past three consecutive spring races. Other active drivers who’ve posted ACT victories at the picturesque speedplant include a pair of Vermont veterans Joey Laquerre from E. Montpelier, and Hyde Park’s Eric Williams. Both are expected to challenge Cyr for the crown in one week.

Additionally, a host of drivers from across the region have entered ACT’s White Mountain 100. In fact, every state in New England, as well as New York and Quebec are represented.

New York’s Mark Lamberton from Mooers Forks and Morrisonville’s Fred LaGoy will lead the Empire State contingent to the. Lamberton is fifth in points while LaGoy is tied for 11th.

Turner, Maine’s Ben Rowe, a multi-time PASS Series champion will pilot a David Avery owned Late Model in the 100-lapper. Rowe, a second generation competitor, failed to qualify for the Thunder Road opener on April 30 but rebounded at the Tour’s stop at Lee USA Speedway. Rowe will start on the pole of the Re/Max Alliance 100 when the event resumes on Tuesday, July 18. First round qualifying had been completed at Lee on May 19 before that event was also postponed due to rain. Other Maine racers to watch for include Ron Henry from New Gloucester, Bar Harbor’s Steve Reny and Rowe’s Turner neighbor, Shawn Martin.

The Granite State of New Hampshire will be well represented when the rescheduled race takes place next Saturday, June 17. Leading the pack is Hudson’s Joey Polewarczyk, a 17 year-old sophomore racer who is an impressive sixth in the Tour point standings. Also representing New Hampshire are Roger Brown from Lancaster, Bobby Baillargeon, and Mike Collins of Rochester, among others.

From southern New England comes Ryan Vanasse from Rhode Island and Dennis Botticello from Connecticut, as well as Bay Staters AJ Begin and Marc Curtis.
Vermont, where ACT is based, will send a strong contingent of Tour competitors. Among then are Brent Dragon, winner of the 42nd annual Mekkelsen RV Memorial Day Classic, Montpelier’s Dave Pembroke, Scott Payea from Milton, Jeffersonville’s Joe Becker, Phil Scott of Middlesex and the Fisher brothers from Shelburne, Jamie and Steve, to name a few.

With two events of 12 events completed, defending White Mountain Motorsports Park race winner, Cyr leads the ACT Tour standings over Dragon (217-177). Pembroke is third (176).