ACT and Thunder Road Fans Need To Weigh In!
Dick Berggren’s Speedway Illustrated Magazine is bringing back the late winter car show at the Eastern States Exposition in West Springfield, MA. A new, exciting race car and trade show called SpeedwayEXPO will debut on Friday, March 2 through Sunday, March 4 (visit for more details).

As part of the revised and expanded show format, the founders will be celebrating Northeast racing with the “Speedy Awards”. The Speedy” is a prestigious honor that will be bestowed by you, members of the racing community. Members of the Speedway EXPO staff have compiled a list of candidates in each of nine categories (go to to find their suggestions), but racers and fans are encouraged to make their own nominations. To nominate someone in one or more of the categories (a brief explanation is below of the criteria accompanying each category) you need to send in a brief explanation why your nominee is most deserving. Nominations can be e-mailed to or use the “submit here” button from on their website. Each submission must be accompanied by the nominating person’s name and a valid e-mail address.

The “Speedy Awards” are not a popularity contest, where the most votes will guarantee an award. The awards will be presented following a review of each nominating statement by a distinguished panel of judges. A special presentation will be held on Sunday, March 4 at the SpeedwayEXPO to honor the recipients.

To the entire ACT and Thunder Road contingent of racers and fans in the US, Canada and farther afield, we need your help to make nominations of the drivers you feel are most deserving. There needs to be representation from the northern part of the Northeast!

The categories:

Break-Out Racer of the Year (Roger Brown for his exceptional season, a top five point finish and a win at Seekonk comes to mind as does Joey Pole who set a new Thunder Road track record in the Milk Bowl for the pole and ran to a third place finish come quickly to mind as possibilities although there are more who fit the bill). Weekly racers are also eligible for this award

Long Haul Award (for the driver who has exhibited major “Staying Power” in the sport for prolonged and continued high-level performances). How ‘bout Joey Laquerre, Claude Leclerc or Yvon Bedard – all are legends in the sport although they might not like to be reminded of their longevity behind the wheel.

Best Weekly Racer – the list of potential nominees from Thunder Road long.

Best Northeast Touring Racer – Another long list of ACT racers comes to mind.

Best Weekly Show – ‘nuff said!

Best Individual Performance in an Event – Pick any of the events on the 2006 ACT Tour or the Quebec Late Model Series as well as at Thunder Road and the list is almost endless.

Best Individual Promotion – The Merchants Bank 150? ACT’s return to Sanair? The Bond Auto Labor Day Classic? The Milk Bowl? Take your pick of one of these or a different one and submit your suggestion.

Best Series or Track Coverage – This can be for a newspaper (daily or weekly) or a website.

Best Fan of the Year – Nominate yourself or someone you know who is dedicated and why.

Outstanding Contribution Award - Who makes a difference?

The Solid Lifter – An award for a non-racer. Recognizes the strength of a behind the scenes person.

There you have it! Put on your thinking caps and make some submissions to make sure ACT is represented. Nominations will be accepted until February 18 (that’s next Sunday!).