Donald Theetge celebrates his serie ACT Castrol victory.                               
Stock car racing veteran, Donald Theetge of Boischatel Quebec came from 18th in the 23 car starting field to win Saturday’s Paradis du Sport 100, the ACT Castrol Series’ season opening event at the Autodrome Montmagny Speedway in Montmagny, Qc.  Theetge, the 2006 champion, who has two previous victories at the 3/8ths mile high-banked paved oval in four previous races, surprisingly did not earn a qualified position in his heat race which relegated him to the rear of the starting grid.
Jean-Francois Dery, from Val Belair, Qc, the 2006 championship runner-up was again second to Theetge. Sylvain Lacombe, of Terrebonne, Qc, the 2005 title holder was third. Quebec City’s Alexandre Gingras and Marc-Andre Cliché from Vallee Jonction, Qc completed the top five.
Daniel Bergeron of Mirabel, Qc and Yvon Beard from St-Nicolas, Qc started on the front row with Bergeron leading the first two circuits from the pole position. A couple of yellows early in the event for minor spins allowed Bedard to take over on the third lap.
Bedard, a 25+ year racing veteran, moved into a comfortable lead as the balance of the
Early race leader, Yvon Bedard ptted following an              incident.                                                                                    
field battled for position. Moving through the field from his sixth post position was Karl Allard of St-Felicien, Qc. The multi-time snowmobile racing champion passed Bedard to take the lead on the 26th circuit. Following Allard was Lacombe and Gingras.
Meanwhile, Theetge was on a march toward the front, oftentimes picking off multiple cars on each trip around the speedplant. On the 29th lap he passed Gingras for third and set his sights on the top two.
On a lap 40 restart, which came out for a minor spin, Theetge passed Lacombe for second.  Allard was able to maintain the top spot following the sixth and final caution but with the handling on his car going away, the leader knew it was a matter of time before he too fell victim to Theetge’s march toward the front. On lap 49, Theetge won the battle as Allard’s car drifted high through a corner.
Top 3 finishers (l-r) Sylvain Lacombe, Theetge, Jean-     Francois Dery.                                                                           
Theetge settled into a rhythm at the front as Lacombe, Dery, Gingras and Allard battled for the balance of the top five. Over the final 10 laps the quartet had the fans on their feet as they jockeyed for position.
Completing the top ten were Allard, Jacques Poulin, Marc Begin, Simon Roussin and Claude Leclerc.
The ACT Castrol Series continues its 12-race, 2007 season on Saturday (May 26) at the Autodrome St-Eustache, a 4/10ths mile oval northwest of Montreal. Post time for the St-Eustache 100 is 6:00 pm.


1 80 Donald Theetge
2 21PQ Jean-Francois Dery
3 3 Sylvain Lacombe
4 27PQ Alexandre Gingras
5 95 Marc-Andre Cliché
6 48PQ Karl Allard
7 97PQ Jacques Poulin
8 37 Marc Begin
9 66 Simon Roussin
10 11PQ Claude Leclerc
11 28PQ Dany Ouellet
12 77PQ Rejean Blanchet
13 15PQ Kevin Roberge
14 31PQ Steven Boissonneault
15 31ON Spencer McPherson
16 42 Eric St-Gelais
17 30 Stephane Durand
18 7PQ Daniel Bergeron
19 9PQ Yvon Bedard
20 92 Jonathan Desbiens
21 03 Martin Lacombe
22 35 Normand Lavigueur
23 91 Patrick Laperle