Balance of starters also receive increase

Éric Lehoux (20) and rookie Stéphane Durand (30) racing together at Montmagny earlier this year

The winner’s purse for Sunday’s 250-lap Late Model stock car race at the Autodrome Montmagny Speedway, the 11th race on the série ACT Castrol has been doubled according to the event’s promoter Ralph Nason.  Originally slated to pay $2,000 for the victory, the winner will now earn $4,000.  Nason reports that the entire starting field will also be racing for increased purse monies.

“Any time the money gets increased it’s a good thing for the drivers,” commented Série ACT Castrol point leader Patrick Laperle. “Obviously everyone likes money,” he added with a grin.

With two wins this season the nine year Late Model racing veteran has to be considered among the favorites for the Montmagny 250 win.  The St-Denis, Qc driver who has a 19 point advantage in the standings also has an impressive seven top five finishes in 10 starts.  His closest challenger is Sylvain Lacombe from Terrebonne, Qc, the 2005 Champion and winner in a 100-lap event at the fast 3/8the mile Montmagny speedplant earlier this year.  Lacombe also has a pair of wins and seven top 10s to his credit in 2007.

Theetge won the Série ACT Castrol opener at Montmagny

Other threats for the win have to include Alexandre Gingras of Quebec City, who scored his third win of the year in Friday’s PRO-FAB 100 at Autodrome Chaudiere (Vallée-Jonction, Qc) and Boischatel, Qc’s  Donald Theege.  Theetge, the 2006 champion posted a win in the series’ season opener at Montmagny.

Among the top 10 point drivers looking for their first win of the season are Jean-François Déry, Karl Allard, Marc-André Cliche, Steven Boissonneault, Yvon Bedard, Jacques Poulin and Claude Leclerc.

Sunday’s Montmagny 250 has a post time of 1:00 pm.  For additional information visit or