Donald Theetge of Boischatel, Qc returned to his stock car racing roots Sunday at the Autodrome Montmagny Speedway (Montmagny, Qc) and emerged victorious.  Theetge, the 2006 Série ACT Castrol Champion elected not to defend his title and has instead, been competing with the U.S.-based American-Canadian Tour (ACT) Late Model Series.  The Chevrolet driver’s win in La Québécoise 250 at the 3/8ths mile high-banked oval was his second of the season in seven starts.  The veteran competitor earlier won the Series’ season-opener, the Paradis du Sport 100 on May 19.

Theetge’s heir apparent, Patrick Laperle of St-Denis, Qc was a close second and Karl Allard from St-Felicien, Qc was third in his best performance of the year.  Quebec City’s Alexandre Gingras, last week’s winner in the PRO-FAB 100 at Autodrome Chaudiere was fourth and Sylvain Lacombe of Terrebonne, Qc, the 2005 champion completed the top five.

Freshman competitor, 16 year-old Jonathan Desbiens started on the pole but veteran racer, Martin Lacombe got the jump from his outside front row spot when the green flew.  The younger Lacombe led the first 44 circuits until the first of four cautions flew for a minor two car  incident.

During the opening forty laps, Theetge, who had started seventh, worked his way toward the front in a pack that included Laperle, Allard, Gingras, Sylvain Lacombe and others.  On the restart Theetge got by Martin Lacombe only to have Lacombe’s older brother Sylvain move in on his rear bumper to challenge for the lead.  On lap 84 Laperle took a run on second place Lacombe as the pair rounded the third and fourth turns.  He dove low through the final corner and passed cleanly into the runner-up spot.  For the next 40 laps Theetge and Laperle waged a game of cat and mouse which kept the large crowd on their feet.

 The leaders all pitted during the event’s second caution, which came out on the 126th circuit.  Spencer MacPherson, a rookie racer from Carleton Place, ON found himself in the top spot.  MacPherson, who finished third in a 100-lap Série ACT Castrol race at the Montmagny speedplant on June 16, maintained the lead until Theetge regained the advantage on lap 161.  MacPherson, who did not pit for tires or fuel, wound up 11th.

Allard and Laperle both tried to unseat in Theetge in the waning laps but were unsuccessful in spite of two additional caution periods and the ensuing restarts.  Completing the top ten finishers were Simon Roussin in sixth, Yvon Bedard, Jean-François Déry, Claude Leclerc and Martin Lacombe.  La Québécoise 250 was contested in 1:28:47 and just three of the 21 starters were out of the race when the checkered flag flew.

The Série ACT Castrol wraps up its 2007 season with its 12th and final race on Sunday, September 23 at Autodrome St-Eustache (St-Eustache, Laval, Qc).  The 300-lap affair at the fast 4/10th mile flat oval will be the most grueling event on the schedule and could shake up the point standings which are unofficially led by Patrick Laperle.

The unofficial finish of LaQuebecoise 250

1.         Donald Theetge, 250

2.         Patrick Laperle, 250

3.         Karl Allard, 250

4.         Alexandre Gingras, 250

5.         Sylvain Lacombe, 250

6.         Simon Roussin, 249

7.         Yvon Bedard, 249

8.         Jean-Francois Dery, 248

9.         Claude Lelcerc, 248

10.       Martin Lacombe, 248

11.       Spencer MacPherson, 248

12.       Dany Ouellet, 247

13.       Jacques Poulin, 247

14.       Eric St-Gelais, 247

15.       Jonathan Desbiens, 246

16.       Stephane Durand, 243

17.       Eric Lehoux, 239

18.       Marc-Andre Cliché, 217, Rear End

19.       Daniel Bergeron, 198, Brakes

20.       Steven Boissonneault, 136, Running

21.       Kevin Roberge, 0, Handling