“Pole” on the Pole Again at Chittenden Milk Bowl

Teenage American-Canadian Tour (ACT) stock car racing sensation Joey “Pole” Polewarczyk, Jr. of Hudson, NH lived up to his nickname at Thunder Road International Speedbowl on Saturday afternoon, setting fast time in Booth Bros./H.P. Hood time trial qualifying for the 44th Chittenden Milk Bowl.  With a best lap of 12.967 seconds around the high-banked ¼-mile oval, Polewarczyk earned $1,000 and the pole starting position for Sunday’s three-segment, cumulatively scored race for the second straight year.

Polewarczyk will be joined on the front row of Chittenden Milk Bowl Segment I by former ACT Late Model Tour Champion Dave Whitcomb of Essex Jct., VT, who was locked into the starting lineup based on his best lap 13.092 seconds.  White Mountain Motorsports Park Track Champion Quinny Welch of Lancaster, NH was locked into the third starting position with a lap time of 13.124 seconds.

Joey Laquerre of East Montpelier, VT, Phil Scott of Middlesex, VT, and Serie ACT Castrol Champion Patrick Laperle of Montreal, QC each won their 50-lap qualifying races, and will start in positions four through six.  Multi-time ACT Champions Brian Hoar of Williston, VT and Robbie Crouch of Tampa, FL will occupy row number four.  Turner, ME racers Ben Rowe and Glen Luce will round out the Top 10 starters on Sunday.

Sunday’s racing action begins at 1:00pm with a pair of last-chance “B” Feature qualifying races.  With twenty cars scheduled to start each race, only the winners will transfer to the 44th Annual Chittenden Milk Bowl starting grid.  For more information, call (802) 244-6963 or visit or

Starting Lineup – 44th Annual Chittenden Milk Bowl
Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl, Barre, VT – Sunday, Sept. 30

Row  Pos #     Driver/Hometown  Team/Car  
   1      1     97     Joey Polewarczyk/Hudson, NH  Pole’s Automotive Chevrolet
            2     25     Dave Whitcomb/Essex Jct, VT  Sun Ray Fire-Security Chevrolet

   2      3     78     Quinny Welch/ Lancaster, NH  Robinson’s Auto Repair Dodge
           4     15     Joey Laquerre/E Montpelier, VT  Domino’s/Laquerre’s Pontiac

   3      5    14      Phil Scott/Middlesex, VT  Northfield Savings Bank Ford
           6    91      Patrick Laperle/Montreal, Qc  JPN Racing/Patriote Auto Chevrolet

   4      7    45      Brian Hoar/Williston, VT  Goss Dodge Dodge
           8    48      Robbie Crouch/Tampa, FL  EJ Prescott/Second Storey Homes Chevrolet

   5      9     4me   Ben Rowe/Turner, ME   Moody & Sons Construction Chevrolet
         10     7me   Glen Luce/Turner, ME  Thule/K&K Excavation Chevrolet

   6    11    17      Eddie MacDonald/Rowley, MA  New England Mechanical Overlay Pontiac
         12    55nh   Brad Leighton/Ctr Harbor, NH  Irving Oil/Coca-Cola Chevrolet

   7    13    16      Joe Becker/Jeffersonville, VT  Richard Green Trucking Ford
         14      6      Cris Michaud/Williamstown, VT  Merchants Bank/Burrell Roofing Ford

   8    15    89      Scott Payea/Milton, VT  Ouellette Plumbing & Heating Ford
         16    44      Dave Pembroke/Montpelier, VT  VT State Emp Cred Union/Cabot Chevrolet

   9    17    99      Roger Brown/Lancaster, NH  Roger Brown Trucking Ford
         18    02      Randy Potter/Groveton, NH  P&R Excavating Services Chevrolet

 10    19    55vt     Brent Dragon/Milton, VT  Beverage Mart/Furniture World Chevrolet
         20    32      Jean-Paul Cyr/Milton, VT  Ehler’s RV/Sticks ‘n Stuff Chevrolet

 11    21    24me Mike Rowe/Turner, ME  Lux Enterprises/Jerry’s Truck Serv Chevrolet
        22    41     Pete Potvin/Graniteville, VT  AJ Rander/Tenco New England Chevrolet

 12    23    42     Matt White/Northfield, VT  White’s Heating/Lyman Excavation Chevrolet
        24   __     ________________________  ___________________________________

 13    25  __     ________________________  ___________________________________
        26  __     ________________________  ___________________________________

 14   27  __     ________________________  ____________ _______________________
        28  __     ________________________  ___________________________________

Position 24 will be the winner of Last-Chance “B” Feature #1 on Sunday, Sept. 30 @1:00pm.   Position 25 will be the winner of Last-Chance “B” Feature #2.  One Thunder Road provisional and two ACT Late Model Tour provisionals will complete the 28-car starting field.