Over $50,000 to be Awarded at ACT Banquet of Champions

Jean-Paul Cyr

A total point fund exceeding $50,000 will be awarded to top stock car drivers at the 2007 American-Canadian Tour/Thunder Road Banquet of Champions on Saturday night at the Sheraton-Burlington Hotel & Conference Center in South Burlington, VT.  Jean-Paul Cyr of Milton, VT will be feted for winning his seventh ACT Late Model Tour Championship, while his car owner, Rick Paya, will collect a check for nearly $10,000 in point fund monies.

The Top 10 drivers from the ACT Late Model Tour, as well as the Top 10 drivers in each of the four racing divisions at Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl, a ¼-mile high-banked oval track in Barre, VT, will be recognized.  Thunder Road Late Model “King of the Road” Track Champion Dave Pembroke of Montpelier, VT will receive a check for $5,000 for his winning efforts.  Thunder Road’s NAPA Tiger Sportsman Champion, Nick Sweet of Barre, VT, will receive a check for $1,000, while Allen Lumber Street Stock Champion Bobby Therrien of Hinesburg, VT earns a $500 bonus.  Bunker Hodgdon of Hardwick, VT was the Power Shift Online Junkyard Warrior Champion at Thunder Road in 2007.

Winners will also be announced for the ACT Late Model and NAPA Tiger Sportsman divisions’ Most Improved Driver and Sportsmanship awards, as well as the winner of the Ed Carroll Memorial Street Stock Sportsmanship Award and the first-ever Sportsmanship award in the Warrior class.  Each of the Most Improved Driver and Sportsmanship award winners were decided by a vote of competitors and race officials.  Winners of the prestigious Don MacTavish Award, Ken Squier Award, and Dr. G. R. Nielsen Rookie Achievement Award will also be honored.

The ACT/Thunder Road Banquet of Champions is Saturday, January 12 at the Sheraton-Burlington Hotel & Conference Center in South Burlington, VT.  The ACT Late Model Tour kicks off its 17th season at Lee USA Speedway in Lee, NH on Sunday, April 20.  Thunder Road’s 49th season opens with the 10th Annual Merchants Bank 150 on Sunday, May 4.  For information, call (802) 244-6963 or visit or