Cyr, Fisher Receive Top Honors at ACT Banquet of Champions

ACT VP Darla Hartt (left) and Administrator Tina Gallison (right) present championship plaques to driver Jean-Paul Cyr (second from left) and car owner Rick Paya (Leif Tillotson photos)

Stock car drivers Jean-Paul Cyr and Jamie Fisher were feted at the 2007 American-Canadian Tour (ACT) Banquet of Champions at the Sheraton-Burlington Hotel & Conference Center in South Burlington, VT on Saturday night.  Cyr collected the seventh ACT Late Model Tour Championship of his career – his fifth in a row, an ACT record – while Fisher was given the prestigious Don MacTavish Award, ACT’s highest honor.

Cyr, of Milton, VT, strung together a remarkable record of consistency to capture the 2007 ACT Late Model Tour crown.  He drove the #32 Ehler’s RV/Sticks & Stuff Chevrolet to five consecutive podium finishes to begin the 13-race season, and never finished a race in lower than 12th position.  Cyr led a season-high six events in four U.S. states and Québec for a total of more than 230 laps.  His car owner, Rick Paya, received a Champion’s check worth $10,000 for the efforts of his team.  Cyr edged two other Milton, VT natives, Scott Payea and Brent Dragon, for the title.  New Hampshire drivers Randy Potter and Roger Brown rounded out the top five.  Completing the top ten drivers, in order, were Brian Hoar, Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Donald Theetge, Ron Henry, and Jamie Fisher.

Hartt with Don MacTavish Award winner Jamie Fisher

Fisher was presented the Don MacTavish Award by ACT Vice President Darla Hartt for his long-lasting contributions and profound dedication to stock car racing in the region.  The Shelburne, VT native was the Track Champion at Thunder Road in Barre, VT in 2003, and is among the all-time leading race winners in the division.  MacTavish, a New England native, was the 1966 National Sportsman Champion before tragically losing his life in February 1969.  Past recipients of the Don MacTavish Award include NASCAR Founder Bill France, Sr. (1969), Thunder Road Founder Ken Squier (’72), ACT President Tom Curley (’81), drivers Robbie Crouch (’88), Cyr (’96), and Phil Scott (2005), and last year’s winner, ACT Director of Competition Dean Gallison.

The Ken Squier Award, which merits service to stock car racing fans and competitors, was presented for the 20th year, but for the first time was given to two individuals.  Local television sports personalities Mike McGill of WCAX Channel 3 (CBS affiliate, Burlington, VT) and Jamie Scavotto of WPTZ NewsChannel 5 (NBC affiliate, Plattsburgh, NY) were recognized for their efforts in producing outstanding season-long coverage of local auto racing.

The Late Model Sportsmanship Award, as voted on by licensed ACT/Thunder Road drivers and officials, was given to Shawn Fleury of Middlesex, VT.  Fleury was a part-time competitor with ACT while focusing on weekly events at Thunder Road.  He finished 13th in point standings there with a top result of second place in July.  Sophomore racer Mike Bailey of South Barre, VT was voted the Most Improved Driver for 2007.  Bailey collected four top-five finishes at Thunder Road on his way to 8th place overall.

The ACT Late Model Tour will begin its 17th season of competition on Sunday, April 20 at Lee USA Speedway on the New Hampshire seacoast.  For more information, call (802) 244-6963 or visit  To review the Thunder Road Champions and award winners from Saturday night’s Banquet of Champions, visit

Ken Squier Award co-winners Jamie Scavotto (2nd from left) and Mike McGill


ACT Late Model Tour Top 10:
1. Jean-Paul Cyr, Milton, VT (Car Owner – Rick Paya)
2. Scott Payea, Milton, VT
3. Brent Dragon, Milton, VT
4. Randy Potter, Groveton, NH
5. Roger Brown, II, Lancaster, NH (Car Owner – Roger Brown, Sr./3rd place in owner standings)
6. Brian Hoar, Williston, VT
7. Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Hudson, NH
8. Donald Theetge, Boischatel, QC
9. Ron Henry, New Gloucester, ME (Car Owner – Nelson Towns)
10. Jamie Fisher, Shelburne, VT

Late Model Sportsmanship Award – Shawn Fleury, Middlesex, VT

Late Model Sportsmanship Award winner Shawn Fleury

Late Model Most Improved Driver Award – Mike Bailey, South Barre, VT

Don MacTavish Award – Jamie Fisher, Shelburne, VT (Driver)

Ken Squier Award – Mike McGill (WCAX Sports) & Jamie Scavotto (WPTZ Sports)





Late Model Most Improved Driver Mike "Beetle" Bailey