American-Canadian Tour Ready to “Sizzle” at Kawartha Speedway

The American-Canadian Tour Championship Late Model stock car series returns to Ontario on Sunday for the 5th Annual Summer Sizzler 200 at Fraserville’s Kawartha Speedway.  The ACT Late Model Tour made its debut at the fast 4/10-mile oval last September.  Série ACT Castrol champion Patrick Laperle of Montréal won the race over St. Thomas, ON’s Pete Vanderwyst, American drivers Joey “Pole” Polewarczyk, current ACT point leader Scott Payea, and Randy Potter, and defending Kawartha Speedway track champion Larry Jackson of Oakville, ON.

“I love Kawartha,” says Laperle.  “It’s very fast and high-banked, just the way I think a race track should be at the level we compete at.  It’s a very good race track with great racing, I’m ready to go back this weekend… and it doesn’t hurt that I won there last year.”

Polewarczyk echoed Laperle’s thoughts.  “Kawartha is a great track, it’s very different from any other track we run on in the States,” he said.  “It would be pretty special to win there.”

And as much as ACT drivers like Laperle and Polewarczyk enjoy Kawartha, it seems the track’s regular weekly competitors enjoy the challenge of defending their home turf.

“It’s a big deal to some people up here to have ACT racing at Kawartha,” said Jackson, the winner of a 100-lap event at the track last month.  “There are so many good teams in ACT, and there are a lot more good weekly teams at Kawartha this year than we’ve been used to seeing in the past.  It was a great show last year, and I think it’ll be even better this time.  I only finished sixth last year, but I’m hoping to win this one.”

The Summer Sizzler 200 is the eighth of 12 events on the 2008 ACT Late Model Tour.  Point leader Payea, of Milton, VT, leads cross-town rival and seven-time and defending series champion Jean-Paul Cyr by 43 points, 488-445.  Laperle, with 439 points, leads Vermont’s John Donahue (409) and New Hampshire’s Randy Potter (404) to complete the top five.

They will be joined at Kawartha Speedway by Vermonters Brent and Scott Dragon, Maine’s Glen Luce and Leon Heckbert, Québec’s Donald Theetge and Karl Allard, and Ontario rookies Jonathan Urlin of London and Spencer MacPherson of Carleton Place.  Other top Ontarians expected include Vanderwyst, Jackson, Kawartha Speedway point leader Dan McHattie of Cavan, teenager Brandon Watson of Stayner, Linc Brown of Coburn, Bryan Mercer of Port Hope, and Norm Mayhew of Wooler.  Several drivers from Ottawa’s Capital City Speedway are also expected.

Green flag qualifying action for the Summer Sizzler 200 begins at 1:30pm on Sunday, July 13.  Kawartha Speedway is located on County Road #28 in Fraserville, ON, just ten minutes from the city of Peterborough.  On-site amenities include a 24-hour slot casino, an award-winning restaurant, fully enclosed, climate-controlled grandstands with live closed-circuit television coverage of the race, and horse-track harness racing on Saturday.  For more information, call ACT at (802) 244-6963 or visit, or call Kawartha Speedway at (705) 939-6316 or visit