Sean Kennedy Wins Toromont CAT 100       

Ottawa, ON – Sean Kennedy of Dunrobin, ON won the Toromont CAT 100 at his hometrack, Capital City Speedway. Kennedy took the lead from another local Matt Moffiitt on lap 25 and never looked back. The Capital City Speedway regulars used their experience on the third-mile oval to their advantage and two of them finished in the top five.

2008 ACT Tour Champion Patrick Laperle won a late battle with Jonathan Urlin to capture the second place position. Urlin came home third, followed by Matt Moffitt, and Yvon Bedard rounded out the top five. Last week’s winner, Donald Theetge finished sixth, chased to the line by Daniel Descoste, Pier-Luc Ouellette, Brandon Watson, and Ken Baird finished in the top ten.

Unofficially, nine cars finished on the lead lap of the 100 lap event that was slowed by seven cautions. The last caution came on lap 44 as the final 56 laps were run without a yellow.

Kennedy becomes the ninth driver to qualify for the ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway as there have been no repeat winners in the combined nine events on the Series ACT Castrol and the ACT Tour. Kennedy becomes the only qualifier so far from the Province of Ontario. He joins drivers from Vermont, New Hampshire and Quebec.

The Series ACT Castrol will be at Riverside Speedway in St-Croix, QC next Saturday, June 20. The ACT Tour will also be running next Saturday as they were rained out at Waterford Speedbowl this weekend and will be completing the final 72 laps of the event.

Unofficial Finish

1              14           Sean Kennedy

2              91           Patrick Laperle

3              4              John Urlin

4              44           Matt Moffitt

5              9PQ        Yvon Bédard

6              80           Donald Theetge

7              2              Daniel Descoste

8              8QC        Pier-Luc Ouellete

9              19           Brandon Watson

10           79           Michael Lavoie

11           12           Ken Baird

12           85           Trampas Demers

13           27           Alexandre Gingras

14           00           Steve Munro

15           21QC     Jean-François Déry

16           48QC     Karl Allard

17           11PQ     Claude Leclerc

18           31           Spencer MacPherson

19           7              Pete Vanderwyst

20           15QC     Kevin Roberge

21           5QC        Patrick Cliche

22           28QC     Dany Ouellet

23           30           Stéphane Durand

24           17ON     Justin Holtom

25           51PQ     Patrick Hamel

26           97PQ     Jacques Poulin

27           37           Stefany Malanka

28           92           Jonathan Desbiens

29           88           Tim Dorning

30           07           Tim Kirby

31           10QC     Stéphane Descoste

32           26QC     Valerie Chiasson

33           99           Derek White