Sunday, July 19 2009 @ 07:28 PM EDT

Contributed by: ACT Staff

Eddie MacDonald Scores Oxford 250 Win

Eddie MacDonald of Rowley, MA won the 2009 edition of the Oxford 250 at Oxford Plains Speedway. MacDonald earned the third starting position by winning the third heat and took the lead early from pole-sitter Brent Dragon. Dragon would soon get back by MacDonald and lead the majority of the first 100 laps of the event. John Donahue also led after catching Dragon in lap traffic. Brian Hoar also had a strong showing as he led some laps himself.

After the final pit stops MacDonald worked his way back to the front by racing by Hoar, Donahue, Patrick Laperle, Dragon and several other ACT regulars running near the front. Laperle ran near the front of the pack for the majority of the race and came home with a second place finish, while Donahue held on for third. Brian Hoar would finish fourth and Shawn Martin rounded out the top five. Brent Dragon finished sixth followed by Ben Rowe, Cris Michaud, Brad Leighton, and Travis Stearns rounding out the top ten.

About 28 ACT licensed drivers attempted to qualify with 20 of them succeeding. They had a strong showing in the main event as 15 of them finished in the top 20, including seven in the top ten. Nine of them were among the 14 drivers that finished on the lead lap.

The Oxford 250 is one of the two non-ACT Tour or Series ACT Castrol events that awards the winner a ticket to the ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on September 19th. MacDonald is now the 12th qualifier for the Invitational. He joins Brad Leighton, Eric Williams, Scott Payea, Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Patrick Laperle, Dave Pembroke, Jean-François Déry, Donald Theetge, Sean Kennedy, Brent Dragon, and John Donahue.

The American-Canadian Tour will be back in action this Saturday, July 25 with a visit to Beech Ridge Motor Speedway after a 16 year absence. Several Maine competitors as well as some Canadian drivers are expected to challenge the ACT regulars.