TD Bank 250

MacDonald Wins Second Straight TD Bank 250

ACT Competitors Take Six of Top Ten Spots


Rowley, MA’s Eddie MacDonald earned his second straight TD Bank 250 at Oxford Plains Speedway on Sunday, July 18. MacDonald inherited the lead from Center Harbor, NH’s Brad Leighton who had a flat tire on lap 203. MacDonald was uncontested for the remaining 47 laps to earn the $29,800 pay day, which included lap money.


Leighton climbed his way from his 5th starting position to take the lead from pole sitter Brian Hoar on lap 13. He would then proceed to lap all but the top five cars on the racetrack before a lap 140 caution (the second of the race). The majority of the field used the lap 140 caution to make pit stops for fresh tires. Hoar used a unique strategy and just took one tire on the pit stop and beat Leighton back onto the racetrack.


With fresh tires Leighton again jumped out to the lead and was for the most part uncontested until a flat tire on lap 203 sent him spinning off the top of turns 1 and 2, bringing out the fifth and final caution of the 250. Leighton was able to remain on the lead lap and returned to the track after changing his tire as the sixth and final car on the lead lap.


Hoar used this final caution period to make another pit stop and use his final three tires. Hoar, Leighton and Nick Sweet, who had just raced his way back onto the lead lap four laps before the caution, all raced their way through the field. The only other cars on the lead lap at the time were MacDonald, Brent Dragon and Corey Morgan.

With the freshest tires on the track, Hoar managed to get back to second and appeared to have the fastest car but ran out of time. Morgan, who also raced his way back onto the lead lap on lap 144, would finish third, while Dragon and Leighton completed the top five.


Sweet remained on the lead lap until his rearend broke going into turn one on the white flag lap. He was unable to finish the race and finished sixth, the first car down one lap. Patrick Laperle was the top finishing Canadian competitor and finished seventh, also down one lap. Don Wentworth, Dave Pembroke and Ricky Rolfe rounded out the top ten.


The American-Canadian Tour was well represented with Hoar, Dragon, Leighton, Sweet, Laperle and Pembroke all claimed top tens. Seventeen of the 39 TD Bank 250 starters are competitors on the ACT Late Model Tour, Serie ACT Castrol Edge or Thunder Road Late Models.


Many of the same drivers will compete in next weekend’s (Saturday, July 24) ACT Late Model Tour 150 lap event at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway in Scarborough, ME. It will be the seventh event on the 2010 ACT Tour schedule. TD Bank 250 runner-up Brian Hoar was last year’s Beech Ridge 150 winner. Post time is 6:00pm.

Official TD Bank 250 Results

Sunday, July 18, 2010


1 - 17MA Eddie MacDonald

2 - 37VT Brian Hoar

3 - 26 Corey Morgan

4 - 55VT Brent Dragon

5 - 55NH Brad Leighton

6 - 88VT Nick Sweet

7 - 91QC Patrick Laperle

8 - 63 Don Wentworth

9 - 44VT Dave Pembroke

10 - 51ME Ricky Rolfe

11 - 85 Travis Steams

12 - 7ME Glen Luce

13 - 94 Shawn Martin

14 - 3 Dennis Spencer Jr.

15 - 60 Tim Brackett

16 - 71NH Scott Dragon

17 - 50VT Jay Laquerre

18 - 08 Donnie Lashua

19 - 03 Travis Adams

20 - 48QC Karl Allard

21 - 6 Tommy Ricker

22 - 12MI Brad Keselowski

23 - 10NH Ben Rowe

24 - 0x Shane Green

25 - 7VT Eric Williams

26 - 15 Ben Ashline

27 - 07ME Scott Luce

28 - 4 Bradley Babb

29 - 97NH Joey Polewarczyk, Jr.

30 - 88 Jeff Taylor

31 - 50ME Jeff White

32 - 78NH Quinny Welch

33 - 61 TJ Brackett

34 - 11RI Ryan Vanasse

35 - 6VT Cris Michaud

36 - 22VT Roger Brown

37 - 27NH Wayne Helliwell, Jr.

38 - 2ME Billy Childs, Jr.

39 - 5 Dale Verrill