ACT Invitational at NHMS



The final eight (8) teams have been notified that they will be invited to attend this coming weekend’s second annual ACT Invitational at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon, NH. The American Canadian Tour (ACT) completed the final qualifying event at the Airborne Speedway in Plattsburgh, NY Sunday, September 12, 2010 and several teams who were on the ‘short list’ locked in several of the final spots.


The final invitees include a newly crowned Champion at the Oxford Plains Speedway (OPS), Tim Brackett, and another OPS seven (7) time track champion, Travis Adams. Quinny Welch locked in his invite by winning last Saturday night’s weekly event at the White Mountain Motorsport Park in North Woodstock, NH. Welch took over a more comfortable lead from both Stacy Cahoon and his son Tyler. The three have battled all summer for the WMMP title, and all have attended the test and tune sessions at NHMS. Welch gets the nod for 2010 after losing the title in 2009 by a single digit number on the eve of the inaugural invitational. TJ Watson and Jamie Fisher received ‘at large’ invites for their year-long participation on the US Tour and Thunder Road weekly racing respectively. Rounding out the final invited teams is Scott Payea who has been a title contender for many years on the ACT US Tour and David Michaud from Quebec who literally raced his way into the Invitational with an at-large bid following the Fall Foliage 300 at Airborne Speedway.


One of the most popular and most successful drivers in the 20-year history of NHMS will complete the field of 43 invited teams. Running a part-time schedule Brad Leighton used the 300-lap Airborne event to lock up one of the final invitations.

“This has been a very difficult process,” said Tom Curley, President of the American Canadian Tour. “We had a group of 15 drivers on the ‘short list’ going into the final event before this weekend’s Invitational. I think we have assembled a very good field of 43 teams to represent us at NHMS this coming Saturday, and I know there are some teams that could have joined them. That makes this a very tough day. The bottom line is that the fans this Saturday will get to see some of the best short track racers in the region put on a great race, and I think this group will do just that,” concluded Curley.



The previously announced thirty five ACT teams (see complete roster below) will be joined by:


03ME   Travis Adams           Canton, ME             

 04ME    TJ Watson              Cundy’s Harbor, ME

 18VT     Jamie Fisher         Shelburne, VT

 40QC    David Michaud        Blainville, QC

 55NH    Brad Leighton         Center Harbor, NH

 60ME    Tim Brackett           Buckfield, ME

78NH    Quinny Welch         Lancaster, NH

89VT    Scott Payea             Milton, VT


The ACT Invitational is scheduled as part of a triple-header at the NHMS, along with the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series this Saturday, September 18, 2010.


     #          Name                          City, State                  MEMO-Representing

  *3me       Spencer, Dennis, Jr.       Oxford, ME                 ACT at large Oxford Plains

  *4me       Babb, Bradley               Windham, ME              ACT US Tour at large

  *5ri         Staskowski, Richard       Hope Valley, RI            Waterford Speedbowl

  *7me       Luce, Glen                    Turner, ME                  ACT US Tour at large

  *8nh        Caron, Guy                   Lempster, NH              Twin State Speedway Point Leader

  02nh        Potter, Randy               Groveton, NH              ACT US Tour at large

  03me       Adams, Travis               Canton, ME                 ACT US Tour at large

  04me       Watson, TJ                   Cundy's Harbor, ME      ACT US Tour at large

  07me       Luce, Scott                   Strong, ME                  ACT at large Oxford Plains

  14vt         Scott, Phil                    Middlesex, VT              ACT at large Thunder Road

  15ct         Smith, Jeff                   Old Lyme, CT               ACT at large Waterford Speedbowl

  15vt         Laquerre, Joey              E. Montpelier, VT          ACT US Tour at large

  16ny        Lamberton, Mark           Mooers Forks, NY         ACT US Tour at large

  17ma       MacDonald, Eddie          Rowley, MA                 TD Bank 250 winner

  17on        Holtom, Justin               Ottawa, ON                 Capital City Speedway Champion 2010

  18vt         Fisher, Jamie                Shelburne, VT              ACT at large Thunder Road

  21qc        Dery, JF                      Quebec City, QC           ACT Castrol Serie at large

  26vt         Donahue, John              Graniteville, VT            ACT US Tour at large

  27nh        Helliwell, Wayne, Jr.       Dover, NH                   Lee USA Speedway Point Leader

  32vt         Cyr, Jean-Paul              Milton, VT                   ACT US Tour at large

  36qc        Labbé, Alex                  Ste Albert, QC             ACT Castrol Serie at large

  37vt         Hoar, Brian                   Williston, VT                ACT US Champion

  40qc        Michaud, David              Blainville, QC               ACT Castrol Serie at large

  42ma       Zuidema, Jeff               No.Brookfield, MA        ACT US Tour at large

  44vt         Pembroke, Dave           Montpelier, VT             Memorial Day Classic winner

  48qc        Allard, Karl                   Ste Felicien, QC            ACT Castrol Serie Point Leader

  51me       Rolfe, Ricky                  Albany Township, ME     ACT US Tour at large

  51qc        Hamel, Patrick              Ste-Edouard, QC          ACT Castrol Serie at large

  52nh        Chipman, Miles              Epping, NH                  NH Governor Cup winner

  55nh        Leighton, Brad              Center Harbor, NH        ACT US Tour at large

  55vt         Dragon, Brent               Milton, VT                   ACT US Tour at large

  57me       Theriault, Austin            Fort Kent, ME              ACT US Tour at large

  60me       Brackett, Tim                Buckfield, ME               Oxford Plains Speedway Champion

  71on        McHattie, Dan               Cavan, ON                  Kawartha Speedway

  77nh        Hayward, Mark             Newport, NH               Twin State 100 winner

  78nh        Welch, Quinny               Lancaster, NH              White Mountain Motorsports Park

  80qc        Theetge, Donald            Quebec City, QC           ACT Castrol Serie at large

  84on        Jackson, Larry              Oakville, ON                Kawartha Speedway

  88vt         Sweet, Nick                  Barre, VT                    Thunder Road Champion 2010

  89vt         Payea, Scott                 Milton, VT                   ACT US Tour at large

  91qc        Laperle, Patrick             Montreal, QC               Ste Eustache 100 winner

  94me       Martin, Shawn               Turner, ME                  ACT at large Oxford Plains

  97nh        Polewarczyk, Joey, Jr.     Hudson, NH                Beech Ridge 150 winner