Therrien Races to Victory in ACT Opener at Oxford

Therrien Races to Victory in ACT Opener at Oxford

Hinesburg, VT’s Bobby Therrien passed defending American Canadian Tour Champion Wayne Helliwell Jr. on lap 49 and never looked back winning the Oxford 100 going away on Sunday, April 17th at Oxford Plains Speedway. 

Therrien led the final 51 laps, holding off Steuben ME’s Rowland Robinson Jr. on a pair of late restarts to win the 2016 ACT season opener. It was Therrien’s second career victory and first since 2013.

Robinson came home second to earn his first career podium finish with ACT. Former Oxford winner Eddie “The Outlaw” MacDonald charged from 16th on the starting grid to finish third.

Helliwell grabbed the lead on the start from pole sitter Brad Babb and led the first 29 circuits. Meanwhile, Robinson quickly moved up from the ninth starting position, grabbing the lead from Helliwell on lap 30 as the two worked through traffic. 

Helliwell stuck with Robinson, and took the lead back just prior to the race’s second caution on the lap 44. Therrien then came to life on the restart, streaking from the third position to the secure the lead 4 laps later.

Therrien opened up his advantage on the green flag run while Helliwell and Robinson continued to fight for second, with MacDonald entering the fray in the late stages. Cautions on laps 94 and 95 for spins by Mark Jenison and Mark Hudson gave the field two more shot at Therrien, but he was not to be denied en route to the win.

Helliwell slipped to fourth in the final rundown, while Scott Dragon came home fifth. Jimmy Hebert, Quinny Welch, Raymond Christian, Babb, and Brandon Atkins rounding out the top ten.

The ACT Late Model Tour visits Lee USA Speedway Sunday April 24 for the NH Governors Cup 150. Post time is 1:15pm.

For more information contact the ACT offices at 802-244-6963, or visit

Pos Car # Driver Hometown

     1 5VT Bobby Therrien Hinesburg, VT

     2 28ME Rowland Robinson Jr. Steuben, ME

     3 17MA Eddie MacDonald Rowley, MA

     4 27NH Wayne Helliwell, Jr. Dover, NH

     5 16VT Scott Dragon Milton, VT

     6 58VT Jimmy Hebert Williamstown, VT

     7 78NH Quinny Welch Lancaster, NH

     8 93CT Raymond Christian Norwich, CT

     9 15NH Brad Babb Windham, ME

    10 4NY Brandon Atkins AuSable Forks, NY

    11 40VT Nick Sweet Barre, VT

    12 5CT Dillon Moltz Waterford, CT

    13 9ME Emily Packard E. Montpelier, VT

    14 9NH Kyle Welch Newport, NH

    15 1NH Corey Mason Groveton, NH

    16 30NH Rich Dubeau Lebanon, NH

    17 12RI Robert Pelland Cranston, RI

    18 49NH Matt Anderson Franklin, NH

    19 37VT Scott Payea Miton, VT

    20 04NH Shawn Swallow Stark,NH

    21 11QC Claude Leclerc Lanoraie, QC

   22 19QC Dany Trepanier St Edourad, QC

   23 54VT Mike Ziter Barre, VT

   24 22RI Mark Jenison Warwick, RI

   25 21NH Oren Remick Warner, NH

   26 61NH Ryan Olsen N. Haverhill, NH

   27 10NH Bryan Mason Stark, NH

   28 82MA Mark Hudson Norton, MA

   29 1VT Devin O'Connell Madison, CT

   30 41QC Jonathan Bouvrette Blainville, QC

  31 13VT Boomer Morris Barre, VT

  32 0NH Miles Chipman Nottingham, NH

  33 23ME Dave Farrington, Jr. Jay, ME

Lap Leaders:Brad Babb, 0; Wayne Helliwell Jr., 1-29; Rowland Robinson Jr., 30-43; Helliwell, 44-48; Bobby Therrien, 49-100. (4 lead changes among 4 drivers)

Time of Race: 47:54 Margin of Victory:  0.806 seconds

Cautions: 4 (laps 3, 44, 94, 95)

Heat Winners: Nick Sweet, Ryan Olsen, Mike Ziter, Jimmy Hebert.

Consi Winners: Scott Payea, Kyle Welch