The American Racer Three Star program will continue in 2016. The program is designed to recognize three teams in no particular order of performance that had outstanding races at ACT US Tour events. There are no specific criteria for deciding who might receive the award of a free American Racer Tire (value $125.00), but a special effort by a team, exceptional race, just plain old hard luck, or other accepted reason to give the award is used to decide the recipients.

The three stars are chosen by officials and winners will receive certificates for the use of a free American Racer tire at a future Tour race of their choosing during 2016.

The awarding of the stars does not allow for anybody in the top three to receive the recognition.

The first race back to the Speedbowl did not disappoint with a repeat dominant performance by former ACT Champion Joey Pole, but a dramatic Rollie Lachance-led team created plenty of late race excitement. It resulted in needing to clip the car, but in typical Eddie Mac fashion he still made it to the finish stripe. That effort has pushed him into first place in the point standings.  What a start to the season with three different point leaders through the first five events!


100 LAPS


RYAN OLSEN, NO. HAVERHILL, NH— 61NH   A solid run for the 61NH team, at yet another track that Ryan had never raced, turned out to be a huge step in the right direction for this team. The team appears to have finally found the combination to compete, and more importantly finish, after just a handful of races so far. The finish for the 61NH came while racing among a mix of both a Thunder Road three-time Champion (Nick Sweet) and multi-time Speedbowl Champion - in just about any division - (Keith Rocco). This should give this team the needed confidence boost to continue their run into the top ten as they chase the Rookie of the Year title. Steady and consistent was the ride for the Olsen team. More important was the positive attitude after a sometimes difficult and frustrating start to the 2016 touring season. Don’t be surprised to see this team under the guidance of father Mike, a former NASCAR Champion, and the Polewarczyk development team assistance begin a breakout as the middle of the season begins in a couple of weeks. Congratulations to Ryan and his team on a well-deserved American Racer Star of the Race award at the Speedbowl. 


NICK SWEET, BARRE VT – 40VT, — Leading the points by nine (9) over Eddie MacDonald coming into the race at the Speedbowl, it appeared that the 40VT team was positioned for padding the lead going into Waterford. A fourth place previously for the potent Nick Sweet team certainly signaled them as favorites. It was, by any racer’s standard, a horrible day at the race track. Running over debris from a previous accident in the early stages of the race made for an early pit stop and subsequent run back from the rear. A second flat after the half-way point looked like this was going to be the knockout blow. The Sweet team persevered and managed to climb back into a 10th place finish by the end of the 100 laps. For the bad luck, but more importantly for the tenacity to “keep digging”, there is a second star being awarded to the Eric Chase team for their positive result following what had to be a very disappointing day. Unofficially, Nick Sweet gets knocked out of the point lead as the TOUR takes a well-deserved week off before the Devil’s Bowl annual appearance coming up Saturday night, June 4. This team has to be considered one of the favorites going into round 6 of the 2016 Championship campaign. Congratulations to the 40VT for making the best out of a bad situation not of their making at Waterford.


RICH DUBEAU, Lebanon, NH – 30NH— The “sophomore jinx” seemed to have invaded the 30NH team at the beginning of this season, but Waterford just might have gotten them headed back into the 2015 race mode that earned them the 2015 ACT Rookie of the Year honors. A great effort at a new track brought the 30NH a solid best of the year 7th place finish. What was most impressive is that Rich raced with a core of veterans like Sweet, Helliwell, Parent and hometown favorite Dillon Moltz. He also had former ACT Rookie of the Year winners Bobby Therrien and Brandon Atkins to contend with throughout the 100-lap effort. The spirit that the Northern New Hampshire team brings to a traveling circuit cannot be overlooked. This group just seems to understand what this short track business is about, and they set a great example for those young teams that have joined them in the 2016 campaign. Next goal for the Dubeau team looks to be a top five. They seem to be positioning themselves to take another giant leap in their race program, and clearly, around the pits among teams that will be welcomed. Congratulations to the 30NH team on a great effort at the Speedbowl.


For additional information contact the ACT office at 802.244.6963, media@acttour.comor visit,