Masterson, Therrien, Packard Early Challengers

  The annual visit to what has become one of the favorite stops for competitors of the American Canadian Tour (ACT), Devil’s Bowl Speedway in West Haven, VT is next up on the 2016 schedule. After five events, with five different winners, and the closest Championship point race in the long 30-year history of ACT, several teams are positioned to test current top three Eddie MacDonald, Rowley, MA, Nick Sweet, Barre, VT and Scott Payea, Milton, VT.

Josh Masterson, Charlotte, VT, defending Devil’s Bowl Late Model Champion, has more laps than any other competitor at Devil’s Bowl. His team proved that they can run competitive long distance events with a solid finish against a talented field of cars at Airborne’s Spring Green in Plattsburgh, NY a few weeks ago. Bobby Therrien, Hinesburg, VT was the surprise winner on opening day in April at the Oxford Plains Speedway in Maine, and after a huge disappointment at the Spring Green at Airborne Speedway, when he was caught up in a wreck and had to settle for a wrecked race car and last place in the 29 car field, he bounced back with a solid run at New London Waterford Speedbowl last week. Emily Packard, E. Montpelier, VT seems to have defined what is necessary to be successful in long distance racing. Her steady and consistent runs from deep in the field to top finishes have been impressive. Packard started her Late Model career racing at Devil’s Bowl. She has the right guidance from her Polewarczyk led team to challenge for her first victory at what arguably is her most competitive track.

There have been three winners over the brief Devil’s Bowl history of running the ACT. Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Hudson, NH, is the defending champion at the annual event ---- this year the 97NH team will not be racing--they will be working with their development teams, Emily Packard, and Rookie of the Year candidate, Ryan Olsen, No. Haverhill, NH. Another winner, in fact, a two-time winner in 2011 and 2014, eight (8) time ACT Champion Brian Hoar has retired and will not be racing. However, the three (3) time winner at Devil’s Bowl since it reopened as a super competitive asphalt Late Model track in 2011 is the Bruce Bernhardt entry, driven by Wayne Helliwell, Jr. from Dover, NH. They won in 2012 and twice in 2013. They have struggled a bit so far in the 2016 campaign, but still remain in 4th place, just 47 points from current leader Eddie MacDonald.

“We will get things figured out, and we have always enjoyed the ½ mile at Devil’s Bowl, so hopefully it comes at the Devil’s Bowl race. There is plenty of room to race, not too many walls to knock down, and the place always throws off a competitive race. Hopefully, this will get us to the top of the leader board. It seems everyone else is there for a week and then gets bumped! It is time for us to do the bumping. It should be fun,” said Helliwell.

ACT Late Model teams will take green at Devil’s under the lights on Saturday, June 4, 2016. Post time is 6:00.

For additional information contact the ACT office at 802.244.6963,, or visit,  or