ACT Lee Opener

ACT Teams Test and Tune at Lee

A total of 39 American Canadian Tour Late Models took advantage of a test and tune session at Lee USA Speedway in Lee, NH in preparation for tomorrow’s (Sunday, April 13) 2014 ACT season opener.

Rhode Island’s Ray Parent set the fastest time of the day with a 15.819 around the 3/8ths mile speedway. Others at the top of the time charts were former ACT Lee winners Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. (15.914) and Brian Hoar (15.936), as well as Ben Lynch (15.948), and Todd Davis (15.969).

 Several Série ACT Quebec teams were also in attendance. Donald Theetge led the group with a 15.984 lap. Stephane Descoste (15.989), Alex Labbe (16.011) and Jonathan Bouvrette (16.138) were the other Quebec teams in attendance.

ACT Late Models Enter 23rd Season

ACT Late Models Enter 23rd Season with Lee Opener

The American Canadian Tour Late Models are set to enter their 23rd season of competition with their season opener at Lee USA Speedway in Lee, NH this Sunday, April 13. This will be the seventh time the 3/8ths-mile speedway has hosted the season opener. Norm Andrews won the first ever ACT Late Model event at Sanair Super Speedway in 1992 and the first event of the season has seen a variety of tracks and winners ever since.

Over the past 22 seasons, the ACT Late Model season opener has been hosted by seven different tracks and seen 16 different winners. Only four drivers have won more than one season opener, led by ACT Champions Brian Hoar (1997, 2011, 2012) and Jean-Paul Cyr (1996, 2004, 2006). Dennis Demers (1993, 1994) and Cris Michaud (2001, 2005) are the only other drivers with multiple season opener wins.

Canadian Teams Head for ACT Lee Opener

Canadian Teams Head for ACT Lee USA Opener April 13

Several Quebec teams are set to help kick off the 2014 American Canadian Tour season at Lee USA Speedway on Sunday, April 13. Série ACT Quebec runner-up in 2013, Alex Labbé of St. Albert, Quebec, two-time Série ACT Champion Donald Theetge of Boischatel, and Jonathan Bouvrette of Blainville, a NASCAR All-American Series Champion and first-time ACT event winner on the final weekend at Autodrome St-Eustache in 2013, are all gearing up for the 150-lap Governor's Cup on the fast 1/3 mile asphalt track.

Labbé, who missed the 2013 Série ACT Quebec title by just eight points, the difference of four positions in a race, undoubtedly will be the driver to give his Larue Equipment team a second championship, following the one by Karl Allard of St. Félicien in 2010.

ACT Lee Opener


There are a number of veteran American Canadian Tour (ACT) stock car drivers looking for their first wins in the traditional spring opening event at the Lee USA Speedway’s New Hampshire Governor’s Cup 150 on Sunday, April 13, 2014.

Coming fresh off his NASCAR K&N win at the rugged Bristol Motor Speedway, Eddie MacDonald from Rowley, MA has to be considered a favorite to win at his family-owned track. “I would think that a betting man might be smart to forget the NCAA Final Four and drop a dime on the “Outlaw” winning the annual ACT opener,” said ACT President, Tom Curley. “Eddie has won ACT races before, and he has been in a position to win at Lee on several occasions over the years, but has not grabbed the checkers yet. He usually finds a way to get to the front, although his schedule usually does not allow for much practice compared to other teams. He still is long overdue to win the New Hampshire Governor’s Cup,” concluded Curley.


The best group of young talent in nearly 30 years has emerged to challenge some of the biggest stock car racing stars in the Northeast during the 2014 American Canadian Tour (ACT) upcoming season.

“Having this many talented young teams is exactly what ACT racing was designed for. All these teams have come out of weekly tracks and are now testing the longer distance events. ACT tries to create schedules that will still allow teams to race at their “home tracks” during the height of the race season. We have lots of events scheduled in early Spring and later in the Fall. Watching these new young teams develop has become one of the most fun parts of the business for me. There is nothing more exciting than to see a young racer win his/her first major event!!”, said Tom Curley, long-time promoter of ACT racing.


American Canadian Tour (ACT) teams look at Lee USA Speedway’s annual New Hampshire Governor’s Cup 150 to kickstart their race season on Sunday, April 13, 2014. The optimism is well-founded. ACT Late Models can boast 10 different winners in 11 events held at Lee since 2003.

The list of winners is impressive, with a huge diversity of experience. Starting the list of winners are two Canadian teams, featuring four-time ACT US and Canadian Champion Patrick Laperle from St. Denis, QC and NASCAR Canadian Champion DJ Kennington, St. Thomas, ON in 2003 and 2004, respectively.

ACT Driver of the Day - Jean-Francois Dery

ACT Driver of the Day: Jean-François Déry

 Déry put together arguably the most consistent championship season in the history of the Série ACT on his way to the 2013 title. After coming up just short in 2012, the hunger for his first career championship was apparent each and every week. He claimed a win in the season-opening even at Circuit Riverside Speedway, but it wasn’t until his second win of the season at Autodrome St-Eustache that he claimed the point lead. Once he gained the lead, he never let it go as he finished the season with a string of five straight podium finishes to claim the title. Along with the 2013 title, Déry took home over $48,000 for his efforts last season.

2013 Stats – 1st Place
Starts – 11
Wins – 2
Top 5s – 9
Top 10s – 10
Avg. Fin. – 4.3

ACT Driver of the Day - Wayne Helliwell, Jr.

ACT Driver of the Day: Wayne Helliwell, Jr.

Wayne Helliwell, Jr.’s name has become a synonym for winning in Northeast stock car racing. In 2013, he captured his second straight American Canadian Tour Championship and his fourth straight Ford Blue Oval Cup Championship. He swept the two events at Devil’s Bowl Speedway as part of his remarkable nine podium finishes during the season, not including his runner-up finish in the 5th annual Bond Auto ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. In just his third full season on the ACT Tour, Helliwell has solidified himself as one of the all-time greats in the history of the American Canadian Tour.

2013 Stats – 1st Place
Starts – 14
Wins – 2
Top 5s – 10
Top 10s – 13
Avg. Fin. – 4.5

ACT Driver of the Day - Alex Labbe

ACT Driver of the Day: Alex Labbe

Labbe returned to Série ACT with a new team in 2013 and scored big wins on both sides of the border. He finished as the 2013 runner-up in the final standings after scoring back-to-back wins during the Série ACT season. The former Série ACT Rookie of the Year also scored a win in the ACT US season finale at Airborne. A week later, he earned the Milk Bowl pole at Thunder Road and picked up a third place finish in what is known as the “Toughest Short Track Race in America.” He earned over $45,000 during the 2013 season.

2013 Stats – 2nd Place
Starts – 11
Wins – 2
Top 5s – 8
Top 10s – 9
Avg. Fin. – 5.1

ACT Driver of the Day - Joey Polewarczyk, Jr.

ACT Driver of the Day: Joey Polewarczyk, Jr.

Polewarczyk had another career year in 2013 on his way to a runner-up finish in the ACT point standings. He tied an ACT record with three straight feature wins during the first half of the season. The veteran then earned his biggest win of the year in the ACT International event at Airborne and pocketed the $25,000 check. Polewarczyk competed in his 100th career ACT point-counting event in the season finale at Airborne Speedway. Between the 14 point-counting events, his $25,000 win in the International and fifth place efforts in the Invitational at NHMS and Milk Bowl at Thunder Road, Polewarczyk took home over $55,000 in 2013.

2013 Stats – 2nd Place
Starts – 14
Wins – 3
Top 5s – 10
Top 10s – 12
Avg. Fin. – 4.9